Curriculum Vitae of William Moore


Contact

Location: Kansas City Metro Area, MO, USA

e-mail: [email protected]

Code Repositories

Work Experience

  • A Place For Mom (2022 - current) - working as a full stack developer on an internal system using React front-end and TypeScript for all code.
  • SecureCom Wireless (2020 - 2022) - worked on Android development and the enterprise system Entre, which managed security system panels and associated components.
  • Commerce Bank (2012 - 2020) - worked in various positions as a Programmer Analyst to a Software Engineer. These duties included developing, troubleshooting, and supporting existing systems written in Java and JavaScript (React) as a full stack developer.
  • Westar Energy (now Evergy) (2007 - 2012) - worked as a back-end Java developer for various energy accounting systems.

Technical Skills

Java, JavaScript, Linux, MacOS, REST API design, full stack, troubleshooting. There’s certainly much, much more. I just cannot think of them at the moment.

Personal Projects

  • caranmegil.com - My personal site where I try out all things HTML + CSS (with some very, very light and not intrusive JavaScript).

Education

  • Master’s Degree, University of Missouri, Kansas City (December 2023) - studied Professional Business Administration, focusing on entrepreneurship.
  • Bachelor’s Degree, Kansas State University (2003) - studied Computer Science, focusing on languages and language development.

Interests

  • Board Games - I play primarily Dragon Dice and various role-playing games. I also build my own using commonly found pieces.
  • Chilis - I love burning my insides through eating the spiciest of chillis.
  • Cycling/Fitness - I actively do physical fitness, focusing primarily on a Peloton bicycle and the real thing.
  • Free/Libre Open Source Software - I enjoy developing and using FLOSS for various reasons.
  • Interactive Fiction Software - I enjoy developing and playing different interactive fictions.
  • Home Automation - much to the discomfort of my wife, I am incrementally as time and finances allow automating my current house as I did with the previous one.
  • Martial Arts - I have obtained a 2nd degree black belt in taekwondo and am currently practicing tai chi.
  • Tea - My favorite drink since a lad of 8 is tea. Currently, I prefer sencha green tea, for which I built an IoT device to monitor water temperature that is actually quite critical (TM) for making the best cup.

Notable Qualities

I have been described as having a jovial, open, and nerdy personality.